hello again.

I decided to jump back into blogging, mostly because I’m only taking six units this semester (I was BURNED OUT at 19 1/2 last fall, thankyouverymuch), and I kinda have oodles of time to take zillions of pix, cook things, and write about it…………… Yeah, this just shows you how obsessed I am with food in general – I stepped off a plane in SfO on Tuesday, and was I excited to see my family? Well, most definitely. =) But I was SO EXCITED about getting back into my kitchen!! And cooking things!! ahhhhh it’s been a pretty awesome 3 days of being home so far. 😉 All the pots and pans and spatulas were rather rudely awakened from their mini-vacay. xP

 

Yesterday was Pi Day, so of course I had to make pies! But I wanted to do a different take on them, because….pies are boring. So I made Vegan Shepherd’s Pie, and for dessert, baked apples wrapped in pastry. I think Pi Day should come around more often.

 

IMG_1901 IMG_1903

Inside the mini shepherd’s pies were brown lentils, garlic, red onion, parsnips, celery, and a whole host of other veggies. Pretty much a look-in-the-fridge-and-chuck kind of thing.

IMG_1909

The pan gravy to make it all into creamy delishimishimooness

IMG_1912

So I kind of adore the flavor of yukon gold potatoes, btw.

IMG_1917

Finished product! Brown lentil and veggie mixture on the bottom, with creamy gravy mixed in, and bruleed garlic mashed potatoes on top!

IMG_1921IMG_1925

Soo there comes a time in life when apple pie gets boring, right? So I took an apple, cored it, and filled the center with a sort of crumble topping – oats, coconut sugar, earth balance, cinnamon, etc. Then I wrapped dough around the apple, encasing the center. Baked it for 30 minuts, and voila! It’s like an apple pie, but personal-sized and six times yummier.

 

Tomorrow: vegan bolognese.

2 thoughts on “hello again.

Leave a Reply

